Third C-130J transport aircraft arrives in Dhaka

Third C-130J transport aircraft arrives in Dhaka

The Bangladesh Air Force received its third C-130J from the United Kingdom earlier today at Bangladesh Air Force Base Bangabandhu on a successful ferry flight.

The aircraft were flown from the United Kingdom to Bangladesh by the Bangladesh Air Force’s own pilots. The crew was led by Group Captain Md. Ahsanur Rahman, AFWC, PSC, GD (P). The plane stopped over in Cairo and Muscat en route to Dhaka.

The Bangladesh government has been expanding its airlift capabilities with the acquisition of a good number of transport aircraft from Western countries including the five C-130J Super Hercules tactical transporters.

The third C-130J was received at the BAF Air Base Bangabandhu by the Chief of Air Staff of the Bangladesh Air Force Air Chief Marshal Mashiuzzaman Serniabat, BBP, OSP, NDU, PSC, and UK High Commissioner to Bangladesh HE Robert Chatterton Dickson.

Assistant Chief of Air Staff (Operations) Air Vice Marshal M Abdul Bashar briefed journalists on the occasion according to the ISPR.

It is to be noted that the C-130J transport aircraft is equipped with state-of-the-art avionics and advanced technologies. The aircraft will be used to transport goods and troops for missions in Bangladesh and abroad.

The Bangladesh Air Force is awaiting delivery of two more C-130J transport aircraft which are currently undergoing modernisation and overhauling by Marshal Aerospace & Defence Group at Cambridge.

These aircraft will help tremendously increase the airlift capabilities of the Bangladesh Air Force.

The Bangladesh Air Force is now seeking to purchase at least two C-130J-30 lengthened variants of the C-130J.

See also  Bangladesh Air Force conducts large scale air defence exercise

The aircraft will be used to conduct Special Forces missions.

The Bangladesh Air Force currently operates four C-130B and three C-130J transport aircraft besides three more An-32/A and three L-410 UVP-E20s.


The Bangladesh Defence Analyst - © 2024